March 20, 2017 10:00 ( Age: 5 Years)

Oxford IP Moot 2017

Bucerius Team won "15th Annual Oxford International IP Law Moot Competition"

f.l.: Katharina Watzke, Fabian Flüchter, Jakob Rehder, Karsten Windler, Felix Tann, Ronald Silley

The mooting team of Bucerius Law School’s Center for Transnational IP, Media and Technology Law and Policy won the Oxford International Intellectual Property Law Moot 2017, which took place at Pembroke College, University of Oxford from March 16-18, 2017.

Since October 2016, this year’s team members Katharina Watzke, Jakob Rehder and Felix Tann successfully worked on two written submissions - one from the appellant’s and one from the respondent’s perspective – in order to qualify for the best 24 teams getting invited to the oral proceedings. In Oxford the team mooted against seven competitors from all around the world.

In the preliminary rounds the team defeated University of Malaya (Kuala Lumpur), Osgoode Hall School of Law (Toronto) and DePaul University School of Law (Chicago) and was only defeated once by the team of University College London. In the quarterfinals they once more met and overcame Osgoode Hall School of Law, before they defeated the home team of University of Oxford in the semifinals. The grand finale against University of Toronto’s team in front of three British High Court Judges marked the absolute highlight and was topped by the overall win.

In the 15 year history of the competition, the Bucerius team was the first one with a civil law background and the first one only consisting of non-native speakers to win. Additionally, team member Felix Tann was awarded as one of the five best individual mooters in the preliminary rounds.

Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Katharina Boele-Woelki, President of Bucerius Law School: "This is a magnificent success! We are very proud to have and promote such talents at our university. The outcome demonstrates once more the importance of internationality for our legal education."